This is a summary of the actions of the Oak Park and River Forest High School Board of Education at its regular Board meeting on Thursday, May 27, 2004:

Board Recognition

• The Board of Education commended the following students and sponsors on their achievements: 1) the students who placed third, fourth, and sixth in the state mathematics competition (respectively)—Dan Turcza, John Binder, Jonathan Monroe-Cook and coach Sheila Hardin; 2) students who participated in the Economic Research Project Team and placed first in the Business Professionals of America's national competition—Rachel Baskin, Nick Liedtke, Craig Winkels, Elaine Zelby, and sponsor Nancy Bardo; 3) the Special Olympians who placed third in state—Alex Brunet, John Carmody, Michael Dolan, Jarvis Hart and the T.E.A.M. program chair, Nikki Paplaczyk; 4) the students who qualified for national competition of ACTSO—Joshua Clark, Justine Cruise-Roberson, Markice Hudson, Anita Kavuu, Adrian LeCesne, David McLain, Zachary Snorden, Erin Williams and sponsor Daphne LeCesne. The Board of Education also commended Dr. Marie Urbanski for being chosen by the National Association of Biology Teachers for its Outstanding Biology Teacher Award.

Board Actions

- approved the Consent Items: Opened Minutes of April 7, 20, 22 and May 4 and 10, 2004; personnel recommendations; financial reports; Ambassador Athletic Apparel's bid for Physical Education Uniforms; Visual Image Photography's bid for photographic services; and Romano Gatland's bid for design services for Food Service redesign;
- approved the Closed Session Minutes of April 7, 20, 22, and May 4 and 10, 2004, and declared that the Closed Session Minutes of November 1, 2003 through May 1, 2004 shall remain closed;
- approved Governor Blagojevich's request for 2004 Valedictorian names and addresses in order to send congratulatory letters;
- approved the Tentative School Calendar for 2005-06;
- appointed the Citizens' Council Members for the 2004-05 school year;
- approved the 2004 Tradition of Excellence Award Recipients as follows: Brigadier General Paul E. Braucher (Class of 1939); Roby Davis (Class of 1981); Gregory Fera (Class of 1974); and Dr. Chadwick Trujillo (Class of 1991);
- approved the abatement of emergency days for the 2003-04 school year;
- approved for first reading Policy 3600, Prohibited Gifts;
- accepted with gratitude from James Zangrilli, president of the Master Educational Assistance Foundation, a donation of \$1,500 to the Special Education Special Olympics; from Mr. & Mrs. Euler a donation of an entire set of softball pants for the junior varsity softball team; from Mr. & Mrs. Cancila, a donation of \$100 to Best Buddies; from Mr. & Mrs. Stansburg, a donation of \$125 to Best Buddies; from Ms. Janet Ferguson, a donation of \$60 to the Girls' Track Team; from Ms. Evangeline Taylor, a donation of \$25 to the Girls' Track Team; from Roselen Murphy a donation

of a 1992 Buick LeSabre to the Auto Shop; and from Sue Cossey, a donation of a 1989 Nissan Maxima to the Auto Shop;

- adopted the REBA VEBA Resolution, as presented;
- approved O.P.R.F.H.S. to be the Administrative District for the Northern Illinois Independent Purchasing Cooperative;
- approved the retirement requests as follows: Jeffrey Currie, effective 06/05; Mary Jaros, effective 06/05; Linda Levine, effective 06/05; and Kevin Washington, effective 06/05;
- approved the annual Appointment of Division Heads, Dean Counselors, Department Heads, Deans of Discipline, Director of Athletics, Director of Special Education and Director of Instructional Technology and Applied Arts for the 2004-05 school year;

Reports

Dr. Bridge reported that Colleen Biggins of the Special Education Department had been presented with a plaque from the parents of 1998 graduate, Kevin Hayes, as a expression of appreciation to the faculty in the LD Program who had raised funds and sent numerous packages to the soldiers in Iraq at Christmas.

Ms. Kim O'Malley gave Citizens' Council end-of-the-year recommendations to the Board of Education. Mr. Deptuch presented the Triton Evening School's spring semester report, and Ms. Stevens presented information regarding commencement.

The Board Members reported on their various Board committee and liaison representative responsibilities.

Personnel

Certified

Appointments Brandi Ambrose, Dean Counselor, effective 08/12/04 (approved 05/18/04) **Phillip Cook**, Science Teacher, effective 08/23/04

Pete Horstrawer, Business Education Teacher, effective 08/23/04 (approved 05/18/04) Kristina Johnson Molho, Dean Counselor, effective 08/12/04 (approved 05/18/04) Renee Sandoval, Spanish Teacher, effective 08/23/04 (approved 05/18/04) Sarah Wurster, Dean Counselor, effective 08/12/04 (approved 05/18/04) Mary Young, Special Education T.E.A.M. Teacher, effective 08/23/04 (approved 05/18/04)

Rescinded Request for Leave of Absences Craig Slocum, Mathematics Teacher, effective 2004-05 school year (approved 05/18/04)

Non-Certified

Appointments

Request for James Craig, Buildings and Grounds Dock Man, effective 06/10/05 (approved 05/18/04) **Retirements**

The next regular Board Meeting will be on Thursday, June 24, 2004, at 7:30 p.m. in the Board Conference Room.