Oak Park and River Forest High School, District 200 Board Briefs Thursday, May 23, 2013

Board Actions

Approval of the following action items:

Consent item:

- o Check Disbursements and Financial Resolutions dated May 23, 2013;
- o Monthly Financials;
- o Treasurer's Report;
- Prevailing Wage Resolution
- o Substitute Teacher Pay Rates for 2013-14
- o Award of RFP To Concession Services, Inc. for Vending Supplies
- Abatement of Emergency Days
- o Contract with AthletiCo, and
- o Instructional Materials
- Award of the Green Room Furniture bid to Frank Cooney Company;
- Personnel Recommendations, New Hire, Transfers, Retirements, and Tenure;
- Appointment of Tod Altenburg as the new Chief Finance Officer beginning July 1, 2013;
- Resolution Authorizing Notice to Remedy as discussed in closed session;
- Open and closed session minutes of May 2 (Retiring and Organizational), May 14 (Finance and Special), and May 15 (Special), 2013, and the destruction of the October 2011 closed session audio tapes.

Reports

Dr. Isoye reported the following: 1) senior Scott Daniel, a Scholarship Cup winner and National Merit Scholarship winner, was named a U.S. Presidential Scholar by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars; 2) John Clay III won the award for best male in the state in the Illinois High School Musical Theater Awards and will travel to New York this summer to compete in the National High School Musical Theater Awards; 3) OPRFHS science students capped off an undefeated season of science symposiums with their first place win at the 6th Annual Northwestern University High School Project Showcase by winning six competitions in the Investigative Research in Biomedical Innovation (IRBI) either individually or as a team. The IRBI class beat out tough competition from Stevenson High School and IMSA; 4) OPRFHS television students scored several top level wins at the annual Chicagoland Television Educators Council (CTEC), Video Festival—Mary Alexander for placing first place in the music video category and other place winners: Tyler Milsap, Ana Goelzer, Neil Hedlund, Sara Janz, and Tommy Jackson; 5) Junior Fran Reckers won a gold award and junior Elana Abrams received an honorable mention at the Midwest Chinese Speech Contest; 6) freshmen Thea Schiet and Vera Beilinso won the silver award at a Chinese-language speech contest at Valparaiso University; 7) John Martin and Morgan Murphy finished the Tournament of Champions debate competition in Lexington, Kentucky as one of the top 30 debate duos; 8) Alex Gustafson won the Triple Threat Award at the South Side vs. West Side Hoops Classic All-Star Game; this award is given to the player who best exemplifies an athlete with character and high academic integrity and achievement; 9) John Martin and Jackson Kishbaugh-Maish placed seventh in the Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics State Math Competition; 10) Sebastian Medala received the second place award from Congressman Danny K. Davis at the 7th Congressional District Annual Art Competition; 11) Drew Lewis' choreography was chosen as one of 11 pieces in the state to be performed at the 35th Annual Illinois High School Dance Festival; 12) On May 13, the OPRF English teachers honored 37 student heroes and their families; 13) Ana Spinuzza qualified for the second time to compete in the state badminton tournament due to her fourth-place finish in sectionals; 14) Girls' Track Team members Olivia Lenzo, Hanna Gorin, Chisolm Nowoko, Jen Smith, Amari Wilkerson and McKenzee Kroeschell, who finished second in the state in the pole vault, qualified for the state meet; 15) Boys' Track team members Chris Wright Madison, Tariq Taylor, Jamal Baggett, Desmond Bird Murphy, Lionel Townes, and Tariq Taylor also qualified for state; 16) The OPRF Varsity Boys' Tennis Team won sectionals last weekend and qualifying for state were doubles teams Graham Lehman and Jeremy Dixon, and DJ Arends and Jonah Philion, and in singles, Miles Blim; 17) the Boys Volleyball team won the regional championship and play in the sectionals on May 24; 18) Director of Food & Nutrition Services Micheline Piekarski and the food-service staff began composting kitchen food scraps through the Village

of Oak Park's composting program. In a one-day assessment last year, the kitchen generated 115 pounds of compostable food scraps, meaning about 575 pounds a week will be kept out of landfills; 19) Dr. Chala Holland, Assistant Principal for Instruction, received her doctorate from the University of Illinois at Chicago; 20) James Paul Hunter was retiring from the position of Faculty Senate Executive Committee Chair to which he had served 8 years.

The Board of Education received a report from the Joint Committee on Student Discipline as well as an update on the Strategic Plan.

Personnel

New Hires

Brian Beyers, Student Intervention Director, effective 08/01/13 **Anthony Clark**, Special Education Teacher, effective 08/15/13 **Max Sakellaris**, Physical Education Teacher, effective 08/15/13 **Summer Workers**

Sharon Jones, Bookstore Summer Clerk, effective 05/23/13

Bookstore Summer Workers effective 06/11/13

Alvaro Donayre Emily Levi-'Ancona
Allison Gerns Caroline Lippe
Nicole Hutchinson Brenda Reyna
Carleigh Joseph Kendall Swanson
Nancy Kelly-Ristau Jackson Todd
Quinn Knox Emma Waterman
Bookstore Summer Student Workers effective 06/18/13

ookstore Summer Student Workers Checuve 00/10/15

Marjory Bell Raven Thomas
Paris Claiborne Vi Tran

Akexa Lisitza

Buildings and Grounds Summer Workers – effective 06/10/13

Zachary AndersonPainterJessica CollinsPainterJohn KupczakPainterSteven SchaffrathEngineerLuis DonosoCustodian

Michael Latham Carpenter

Jeffrey Ochs
Jeremy Powell
Matilde Villagren

Custodian

Grounds Crew
Custodian

David Walksler Carpenter

Kevin Word Custodian

Buildings and Grounds Summer Student Worker - effective~06/10/13

Andrew Shinsako

Transfer Lauren Everding, Math Teacher, effective 08/15/13

Patricia Cole, Instruction, effective 05/16/13 **Lynn Granzyk**, Athletics, effective 08/01/13

Retirements Marilyn Karrow, Nurse's Office, effective 06/2014

David Valdez, Buildings and Grounds, effective 06/01/2014

Tenure Christopher Baldwin Mathematics

Betina Dunson-Johnson Physical Education

Regina TopfPhysical EducationBuster TorrezSpecial Education

The next regular Board of Education Meeting will be Thursday, June 27, 2013 6:30 p.m. closed session & 7:30 p.m. open session Board Room