Oak Park and River Forest High School District 200 Board Briefs Thursday, May 24, 2012

Student Recognition	The Board of Education congratulated the Speech and Debate sponsors and the students who received the National Forensic League Academic All-American Awards. These students have a 3.7 or higher GPA, 27 or higher ACT Score, and 750 NLF Points.		
	Students:Noah Cramer, Alexandria Frisch, Nathan Rothenbaum, and Danielle Zarbin.Sponsors:In Speech—Patt Cheney, Lynette Welter, Kevin O'Brien, Jonathan Saucedo, and Sharon Johnston. In Debate—David Gobberdiel, Michael Soffer, and Jeff Metz.		
Board Actions	Approved the following action items:		
	• Consent items: Check Disbursements and Financial Resolutions dated May 24, 2012; Monthly Financial Report; and Treasurer's Report;		
	 Personnel Recommendations, including new hires, retirement, resignation, notification of tenure, Non-affiliated and Food Service employees' compensation for the 2012-13 school year, as presented; 		
	• The Summer 2013 Maintenance Construction Projects;		
	• The Intergovernmental Agreement with District 97 and Food Service;		
	• The maintenance agreement with Gordon Flesh for copiers for the term July 1, 2012 – June 30, 2017;		
	• The award of the Telephone Equipment Bid to AT&T and the Network Switch Bid to Valcom;		
	• Resolution approving Cheryl L. Witham as the School Treasurer through June 30, 2014;		
	• The contract with Grand Prairie Transit for the period July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015;		
	• Policy 4360, Access to Technology – Personnel, for First Reading;		
	• Policy 5160, Access to Technology – Students, for First Reading;		
	• The IGOV Mission Statement, as presented; and		
	• Acceptance of the Bylaws and Name Change from Concert Tour Association to APPLAUSE, as presented.		
Reports	Dr. Isoye reported that 1) the Washington Post ranked OPRFHS as No. 19 in Illinois and No. 734 nationally, in its High School Challenge Report, which examines and ranks schools on their commitments to preparing students for college, based on the number of students taking AP and/or IB courses, 2) OPRFHS had its certification visit for Project Lead the Way, its engineering program, and is awaiting the report; 3) the leadership of the administrators, police, faculty, and staff were to be commended on the handling of the bomb threat; 4) the Pacific Education Group (PEG) facilitated two days of training in continuation of the District's work to achieve the Board of Education goals regarding racial equity and student achievement; 5) the Honors Convocation for all grades was held		

Tuesday, May 22, 2012; and 6) the District had committed to the Day in Our Village and he asked for volunteers to help staff the booth.

The Oak Park Public Library, as part of its own strategic plan, engaged the Board of Education in discussion as to how the Library could support the high school. Other presentations included 1) Sarah Roodhouse on the Fine & Applied Arts Division, 2) a request by the Oak Park Youth Township for renewal of the Interventionist Program Intergovernmental Agreement, 3) student parking passes from the Village of Oak Park, 4) the redesign of the District's website, and 5) an update on Faculty Leave Absences for 2012-13.

Personnel Recommendations

New Hires Matthew Kirkpatrick, Science Division Head, effective 08/01/12 Carlos Tellez, World Languages, effective 08/20/12 Mariangela Pezzella, World Languages, effective 08/20/12 Reina VandeBogart, World Languages, effective 08/20/12

Summer School Teachers

Summer School Tea	ichers	
James Cassidy	Paul Whalen	Jeremy Colquhoun
Derrick Purvis	Pennie Ebsen	Helen Chang
Luca Ciccolini	Naomi Hildner	Cara Borelli
Brian Davis	Stan Faust	Jenny Harrington
James Bell	Rita Kahn	Scott Miller
Lynn Gilbertsen	Mike Soffer	Allison Henning
Laura Young	Patti Warren	Leigh Remack
Patti Minegishi	Sheila Hardin	Christina Smith
Mike Dorame	Neil Weisman	Kara Bohne
Naomi Hildner	Joe Kostal	Michelle Bayer
Roxanne DeLuca	Katie Depasquale	Kristin Fernandez
Steve Weiss	Joe Kostal	Rashad Singletary
Janice Hubby	Paul Wright	Tom Tarrant
Michelle Carrow	Lou Giovannetti	Bill Young
Michelle Bayer	Neil Weisman	Andrea Neuman
Jay Fisher	Dan Kleinfeldt	Fawn Donatucci
Becky Jacobson	Doug Brown	Meaghan Kennedy
Pat Cheney	Jim Nudera	
Amber Hooper	Jen Roth	
Summer Workers		
Jackson Todd	Malachy Schrobilgen	Allison Gerns
Emma Waterman	Emily Levi-D'Ancona	Steve Compere
Logan Silber	Nancy Kelly-Ristau	Stefan Scherer-Edmunds
Summer Student W	orkers	
Ana Gonzalez	Brenda Reyna	Caroline Lippe

Ana Gonzalez Carleigh Joseph Martin Kahrion Alexa Lisitza

Brenda Reyna Raven Thomas Nicole Hutchinson Quinn Knox Caroline Lippe Charlotte Mann Kendall Swanson

Resignation Dale Craft, Physical Education Division Head, effective 06/08/2012

Retirement Gloria Cullotta, Secretary-Counselor's Office, effective 06/30/2013

Non-Affiliated Employee and Food Service Employee Increases

The next regular Board of Education Meeting will be Thursday, June 14, 2012

6:30 p.m. closed session & 7:30 p.m. open session Board Room